Governing board

BioWin is supported by an internationally renowned team of scientific advisors from industry and academia.


Board of directors

  • President: Philippe Denoël, PhD, Head of External R&D (GSK)
  • Vice-president SME: Hugues Bultot, CEO & Co-Founder (Univercells)
  • Vice-president Academic: Professor Serge Schiffmann (ULB)

Representatives of large companies

  • Philippe Denoël, PhD, Head of External R&D (GSK)
  • Xavier Hormaechea, Head of EU Corporate Affairs (UCB)
  • Christophe Allard, General Manager and Site Head (Cenexi)
  • Jean-François Acquisto, VLife Sciences Business Unit Director (Eurogentec)
  • Gaetane Metz, Chief Quality Officer (IBA)

SME representatives

  • Hugues Bultot, CEO & Co-Founder (Univercells)
  • Thibault Helleputte, Founder & CEO (DNAlytics)
  • Jehan Liénart van Lidth de Jeude, CEO  (Vesale Pharma)
  • Melanie Mestdagt, PhD, CEO (EyeD Pharma)
  • Javier Martinez, Co-Owner & Excecutive Director (Barré)
  • Julie De Wever, PhD, Head (

University representatives

  • Professor Serge Schiffmann (ULB)
  • Professor Jean-Luc Balligand (UCL)
  • Professor Michel Georges (ULiège)
  • Professor Carine Michiels (UNamur)
  • Professor Laurence Ris (UMons)